How to procrastinate

I collect techniques for writing, and it suddenly dawned on me this morning that I only collect techniques that work. So I want to find out some techniques that get in the way. Would you please send me via comments your strategies for procrastinating, your tactics to keep from typing? Many thanks, Don

Published in: on December 28, 2009 at 3:32 pm  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://donfry.wordpress.com/2009/12/28/how-to-procrastinate/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Checking my face book! I also do laundry, straighten cabinets, talk on the phone, check my Amazon ranking for books I HAVE finished and eat foods that are bad for me (standing up –where the calories don’t count, of course.)

  2. I am not sure if you would call it procrastinating as such, but having to many distractions going on doesn’t help!

    I use darkroom (for mac, there is a windows version but I am not sure what it’s called) to write, it is like the old school green screen computers. Everything is black, no bells and whistles, and your writing is green. How cool is that?

    Anyways, if I don’t use darkroom for writing, I get all distracted browsing around the web.

  3. Thanks, Jill. I eat foods that are in reach, so I had to stop writing at the kitchen counter.

  4. Thanks, Michelle, for a nostalgic tip. I loved that old green type on black screen in my IBM PC model 1. I didn’t know it still existed. I’ll find it.

  5. The best thing to happen to writing in the past 20 years, as always, contains the greatest distraction. When I sit down at the computer, I have to steel myself not to open Firefox. If I do, I’ll follow the shiny objects on the Web, catch up with friends telling me things I don’t really need to know and waste enormous amounts of time while destroying the concentration I need to write anything.

  6. Writing historical fiction and non-fiction, I find that reading is an insidious procrastination tool–because it is so justifiable.

  7. Thanks, Richard. Maybe you need to return to your old technique of wandering around a room while you compose. I put that in my blog/book. You’re right; google can keep me distracted for hours.

  8. Thanks, Meg. I have the same problem. I open a book to check something, and before I know it, I’ve read a couple of page further.

  9. If you look at it as procrastination–or, worse, as writer’s block–you turn it into a problem. For me, if I’m not ready to tackle a writing job, I don’t fuss with myself. When all the elements are organized in my head and the inspiration starts to flow, the writing comes together beautifully. I’ve learned to trust my own inner timing, and so I am notoriously productive of materials in my field, without browbeating myself about why I haven’t churned out x number of words today. Donna Cunningham

  10. Thanks, Donna.
    I never think of not writing as procrastination. If it ain’t in my head, it ain’t going onto the screen, and I don’t worry about it. But when it flows…..

  11. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this site.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own blog now 😉

  12. Thanks for the feedback. Good luck with your blog. Don

  13. Hi Your current web site starts up seriously slow if you ask me, I don’t know who’s problem is that however twitter and facebook starts relatively quick.

    Anyway, I appreciate you for posting an incredibly brilliant article.
    In my opinion this has already been literally helpful to visitor who actually click here.
    I really hope I’ll be able to find a lot more incredible content and I also should certainly compliment by
    stating you’ve done fantastic writing. Right after taking a look at your articles,
    I’ve book marked your web blog.

  14. Hello I don’t know if it’s me or your web site but it is loading pretty slowly for me personally,
    I had to spend like a few minutes to successfully load up but facebook works well for me.
    Anyways, Thank you for posting an incredibly wonderful blog post.

    I suppose it has already been helpful to lots of individuals who came in this article.
    This one is definitely wonderful what you actually have concluded and would like to
    check out great content from your site. To get more knowledge from articles which you write-up, I’ve book-marked this web page.

  15. Hey there Your main web site starts up really slow to me, I am not
    sure who’s problem is that on the other hand twitter and facebook
    opens up fairly good. However I appreciate you for publishing superb
    articles. Everyone who actually visited this site should have discovered this article extremely beneficial.

    I have to tell you that you have done brilliant job
    with this and wish to check out much more brilliant content from you.
    I have got you bookmarked to see blogs you post.

  16. Hey there! Your webpage is loading lagging if you ask me,
    this went on sort of a minute to successfully load, I really dont
    know whether or not it’s just simply me or maybe website then again twitter performed for
    me. Well, I appreciate you for placing an extraordinarily fantastic
    article. I believe it really has been really useful to individual who click here.
    This is actually terrific what you actually have implemented and would like
    to discover more amazing content from you. To obtain more understanding
    through articles which you publish, I actually have added this page.


Leave a Reply

