THE BLOG HAS BECOME THE BOOK

This blog has run for three years, as I used it to create a book on how to write your way instead of the way you were taught. The idea is to match and enhance your strengths, not somebody else’s. And it shows you how to create your own voice to match your new writing process.

Last year, I extracted 145 posts from the blog and rearranged them into book order, instead of the catch-as-catch-can order of blogs. I wrote a few bridging passages, created new front matter, and added apparatus: bibliography, credits, etc. Then I rewrote the entire typescript four times to change the focus from journalistic techniques to general professional writing practices.

I was helped by my tough agent, Liv Blumer, and my editor at Writer’s Digest, Scott Francis, who kept pressuring me toward reframing that made the book more accessible to general readers. Thank you, Liv and Scott.

I am pleased to tell you that the book will appear on March 13. It has been announced on Amazon for pre-publication orders and a Kindle version.

Here’s the cover:

(I like the way this cover captures the gadgety spirit of the book; do you?)

Published in: on February 16, 2012 at 11:09 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://donfry.wordpress.com/2012/02/16/the-blog-has-become-the-book/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This sounds great! You must be happy. If you need reviewers, let me know. I’ve been writing in all sorts of forms since I could hold a pencil, but am always happy to learn new tricks.

    Congratulations.

  2. Congratulations Don! Can’t wait to pick up a copy.

  3. Thanks, Epicurienne. I would be delighted if you reviewed it. I think it will be distributed in England by F+W International, and of course, it’s on Kindle.

  4. Thanks, Tom. I think it’s available now on Kindle.

  5. Dear Mr. Don Fry, your book “Writing Your Way” hints that “style” is born not learned haven’t read it yet just got the buy email on Writers Digest headlined “Throw Out The “Old Writing Rules””. I freelance for Examiner.com and CBS ACE, have belong to Poynter for a few years, I am finalist on the Indie Publishing Contest by the SFWU Writers University and Author Solutions, looking for a publisher for a fifty two poem collection. Also, finalizing three novels and two screenplays, told that I write with an “accent”. Your website is encouraging. How do you feel about self-publishing since agents and publishers now want already made authors?

  6. 3-24-2012 Charlottesville

    Dear Marta;

    Thanks for your email. Self-publishing is the future, and the present. I expect to publish two novels through Amazon this year. Go for it.

    You cant judge “Writing Your Way” from that announcement. Judging from what youve written to me, I think it has much that will help you.

    Keep writing.

    All best wishes, Don

    Don Fry, Writing Coach 35 University Circle Charlottesville, Virginia 22903 Phone/Fax: 434-296-6830 donaldkfry@gmail.com http://www.donfry.wordpress.com

  7. This paragraph will help the internet visitors for creating new web site or even a blog from start to end.

  8. Reblogged this on Writing Blocks and commented:
    I have followed this blog for a while now, read through as many articles as my free-time has allowed, and I have found some great advice thereon for my own writing. So this post is a bit more for myself than anything else, but I thought it might also be useful to those who follow Writing Blocks.
    Filed Under: A Useful Writing Book

  9. Hi there, You’ve done an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this site.

  10. Congratulations!. I have just found your blog and read it for the first time. What is the gadgety spirit you mention in reference to your book’s cover?

  11. Thanks, Lori. I’m a sculptor, mostly making crazy machines of metal and wood. So the Rube Goldberg diagrams on the cover, which I didn’t design, were perfect for me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 650 other followers

