JOURNALISTS CHANGING GENRES

My agent, Liv Blumer, asked me what’s involved when journalists change genres, such as beginning to write fiction or a memoir. Specifically, she asked if “journalism training makes it hard to make up a story, and … to write luxuriously, i.e., with descriptions that add texture to a book.”

Yes, it does, and it usually first happens when news reporters become columnists. They’ve spent their entire career up until then keeping themselves out of their writing. Merely mentioning themselves or expressing an opinion or using the first-person pronoun “I” feels like a betrayal of professional values. The secret is to create a new persona, not Janey the ace reporter, but Jane the personal columnist. Jane has permission to use those apparently “unobjective” techniques.

Their second problem is language. The wording of newspapers is deliberately flat, an attempt to sound objective by not using colorful terms. Journalists copied this technique from scientists in the nineteenth century, and escape it only in sports writing or light features. If a columnist sounds like a scientist, readers will not read the column. Even newspaper economists don’t sound like economists.

The last problem is form. Journalists learn to write in the Inverted Pyramid, stacking information in declining order of importance and interest. Readers pass out from boredom after three paragraphs, if the writer is lucky enough to get them to read that far. Most new columnists realize they have to escape the Infernal Pyramid, so they fall back on their high school English training and write essays. But columns are not essays, which generally get to the point at the bottom. Effective columns tell readers early what they’re about, and develop that.

Liv’s question was about shifting to fiction or memoir, not columns. The principles are the same. You give yourself permission to have opinions in public and to talk about yourself. You abandon the voice of the newspaper and create your own that fits how you think and feel, and want to sound. And you leave behind journalistic forms and learn new ones, usually by studying the genres you want to write in. In other words, converting journalists have to abandon the techniques that create the illusion of objectivity.

All of this is discussed in some form in my forthcoming book, Writing Your Way (Writer’s Digest, March 13, 2012).

[Care to share your experiences in changing genres?]

Published in: on January 31, 2012 at 10:21 pm  Comments (33)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://donfry.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/journalists-changing-genres/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

33 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi, Don,

    I am the journalist you speak of.

    That’s very interesting — and a novel idea (ha!) — about the key to journalists switching to fiction. That is exactly the path I followed. Well, not really exactly.

    Many journalists get into the business out of a desire to right wrongs and to make a difference in the world, not unlike the reason cops become cops. I got into it to show off.

    So I did the reverse of the method you discuss. I was a columnist first, going all the way back to high school, and then a reporter. The righting of wrongs eventually became a higher priority than showing off.

    But you make a good case. Based on my own experience, I would add one or two things. Or three or four. The real benefit of shifting your writing from reporting to columns is learning to become relaxed with your writing, to let down your hair and to find your own voice. The use of “I” that you mention is really about learning to tell YOUR story rather than someone else’s.

    I was an award-winning reporter and a highly praised copy editor for more than 40 years. I have discovered that not all journalists can switch over to fiction. Some simply don’t want to, and some are not equipped to.

    But for those who do, I think the ease of it outweighs the difficulties you emphasize. I am starting my own blog (hyphenman.com), and I talk about that very subject.

    First and foremost, regardless of the restrictions of “objectivity” and the inverted pyramid, journalists are storytellers. They know how to wring drama out of the most mundane of events, even a routine city council meeting.

    They also know the strength and power of active verbs and their superiority over adjectives and adverbs.

    The good ones know how to paint a compelling portrait of an interview subject with a few broad brushstrokes and some telling details. They are masters at “showing, not telling.”

    They develop an eye as acute as any master photographer’s. They see the wrinkles and the warts, the gestures and the idiosyncrasies. And they know how to weave those little tidbits seamlessly into their prose.

    As for “objectivity”: Phooey! Even if they don’t admit it, journalists know and practice how to put a figure in a good or bad light. Portraying heroes and villains, in other words, comes naturally to them.

    Lastly, at least for now, journalists have some supreme advantages over most other writers. They know how to get to the point quickly and effectively (else they will lose readers). Because of deadlines, they know how to revise and edit as they go; they may not get a second shot. And they can do it all, thanks again to deadlines, lickety-split.

    So, yes, journalists face some difficulties in reorienting their thinking to fiction. But I can think of no one better suited or better trained to become a novelist.

    Thanks very much, Don, for inspiring me to revisit something so very close to my heart. I hope more journalists will consider making the change. The rewards are better than an Almond Joy candy bar: indescribably delicious.

    — David Nickell

  2. Thanks, David. As you make this transition, I suggest that you write about it on your own blog. Lots of journalists are loose in the world nowadays, and they need models. So write your stuff and then write about writing and marketing it. Don

  3. Que tal,
    Seguramente es la primera vez que he visitado el sitio y debo comentar que me resulta interesante y creo que me tendras mas a menudo por los comentarios.
    ;)

  4. Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily, this website is genuinely good and the people are truly sharing nice thoughts.

  5. Hi my loved one! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice written and come with almost
    all vital infos. I would like to see more posts like this .

  6. Exceptional post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Thanks!

  7. Thanks, Rebecca.
    I don’t have further thoughts or info right now on this topic. But stay tuned.
    Don

  8. Wow! In the end I got a website from where I be capable of truly take useful data regarding my
    study and knowledge.

  9. Thanks, Elvira.
    What would you like me to write about in this writing blog?
    Don

  10. You should take part in a contest for one of the most useful websites on the net.
    I most certainly will recommend this blog!

  11. I am in fact happy to glance at this web
    site posts which consists of lots of useful facts, thanks for
    providing these information.

  12. This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!
    ! Finally I’ve found something that helped me. Thanks a lot!

  13. I believe that is one of the so much significant information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But should
    remark on some normal issues, The web site taste is great,
    the articles is truly nice : D. Just right process,
    cheers

  14. Thanks, Stuart. It was also fun to write. Don

  15. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you, However
    I am encountering issues with your RSS. I don’t understand why I cannot join it. Is there anyone else having similar RSS issues? Anybody who knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  16. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if
    you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  17. Great article! This is the type of info that are meant to be shared across the net.
    Disgrace on the seek engines for now not positioning this post upper!
    Come on over and seek advice from my web site .
    Thanks =)

  18. At this moment I am going away to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming
    over again to read additional news.

  19. I’ll immediately snatch your rss feed as I can not in finding your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any?
    Please permit me recognize in order that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

  20. Hello, this weekend is good designed for me, as this occasion i am reading this fantastic educational post here at my house.

  21. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to claim that
    I acquire in fact enjoyed account your weblog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing on your feeds or even I achievement you get right of entry to persistently fast.

  22. This paragraph presents clear idea for the new visitors of
    blogging, that actually how to do blogging.

  23. This is the perfect site for everyone who wants to understand this topic.
    You realize so much its almost hard to argue
    with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject which has been
    written about for many years. Great stuff,
    just excellent!

  24. Good site you have here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  25. Hi there, I discovered your website via Google whilst looking for a similar subject, your site got here up, it appears to be like great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply was aware of your weblog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in case you continue this in future. A lot of people will probably be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  26. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this site on a regular basis, this web site is actually good and the
    viewers are actually sharing fastidious thoughts.

  27. Wow, awesome blog format! How long have you ever been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The total look of your site is excellent,
    let alone the content!

  28. First off I want to say fantastic blog! I had
    a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to find out how you center
    yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I have had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.

    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it
    just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost just trying
    to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or
    hints? Many thanks!

  29. Thanks, all of you. For Exercise Bike Reviews:
    The easiest way to begin is to type: “This piece is about….” and finish the sentence. Later you can edit it out. Try it. All best, Don

  30. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web page daily, this web site is in fact nice and the users are in
    fact sharing fastidious thoughts.

  31. We have a variety of games like scribbling board, jumbles, jigsaws, building block, finger painting,
    clay modeling, swings, giant bouncy, mini train and merry-go-round etc.

    For boys, you need to follow when planning the nursery for a girl.
    Alice in WonderlandWhere We Knew it From: Of course,
    you must always keep in mind it.

  32. Admiring the persistence you put into your website and detailed information you
    provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once
    in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  33. Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a totally different topic but
    it has pretty much the same page layout and design.
    Outstanding choice of colors!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 646 other followers

